Officers were elected for the upcoming year and a communications plan was reviewed by the Neenah Joint School District Board of Education at its May 7 meeting.

Brian Epley was re-elected as president, while Sarah Moore-Nokes will assume vice president duties. Michelle Swardenski was elected clerk and Tara Brzezinski was elected as treasurer.

The Board reviewed a communications plan update. It is the first update to the plan since 2012 and was developed through comments from community sessions that included virtual and in-person options and a feedback form. The primary focus of the plan is a cleaner website and more consistent communication coming from each of the schools. The Board will vote on the plan at its next meeting on May 21.

The Board also reviewed bid results for District-wide pavement projects, an additional parking lot at the high school and a four-year contract for multifunction copiers.

In action items, the Board approved teaching hires for Nathan Jones and Jackson Smith at the high school, Hannah Scholl at Coolidge and Paige Faucher at Clayton. Educational assistant hires include Heidi Barth at the high school and Kaitlynn Smolinski and Andrea Rettmann at Lakeview. Jodi Baltus was hired as the administrative assistant at Alliance and Jacob Kerkorian was selected as a District mechanic. Dave Sonnabend had his recent resignation as middle school administrator rescinded and will remain at the middle school.

End-of-school year resignations were approved for Vanessa Brayton at Washington, Nathan Vandenberg at Hoover, Sobia Asim at the middle school and Lisa Richards-Kolasinki at Tullar.

The Board honored seniors Sarah Hoffman and Kayla Uhlenberg as its scholarship recipients for this school year. It also marked the first Board meeting for new members Susan Garcia Franz and Alex Corrigan.